The California Department of Motor Vehicles utilizes a point-based system to pinpoint and address the issue of high-risk drivers. This system assigns points to your DMV driving record for different types of traffic infractions. When you receive a traffic ticket in California, points are assigned to your driving record. Accumulating points on your license can lead to suspension by the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The breakdown is as follows:
|Action||Given when you accumulate…|
|Level 1: Warning letter||2 points within 12 months|
4 points within 24 months
6 points within 36 months
|Level 2: Notice of intent to suspend|
Note: Before the suspension happens, you can defend yourself by requesting a hearing. Typically, this needs to be done within two weeks of receiving the notice.
|3 points within 12 months|
5 points within 24 months
7 points within 36 months
You may also get this notice if a major conviction is added to your driving record
|Level 3: Order of probation/suspension|
Note: Probation lasts for one year, and suspension of your driver’s license lasts for six months. The action is effective 34 days from when the order is mailed to you.
|4 points within 12 months|
6 points within 24 months
8 points within 36 months
|Level 4: Violation of NOTS probation||Any violation or crash that occurs while your license is suspended|
Any one- or two-point conviction during your probation period
Any failure to appear or failure to pay fines and fees during your probation period
Any driver under the age of 18 who violates their provisional probation because of an at-fault collision, failure to appear, failure to pay, or other offense
If you are under 18 years old, the penalties for a traffic infraction are more severe. In California, a minor’s provisional license may be suspended
Other violations that may result in an automatic suspension of your driver’s license include: The penalty is for individuals between the ages of 15 and 20 years old. If you reach these thresholds, the California DMV may seek to suspend your driving privilege for six months, citing you as a negligent operator – a driver who has accumulated excessive points.
Remember, driving is considered a privilege, not a right. If you amass too many points due to traffic violations, DUI offenses, hit-and-run incidents, speeding exhibitions, driving over 100 mph, driving on a suspended license, or causing accidents, the DMV can move to suspend your license for six months for being a negligent driver. Note: Your Point Count is calculated based on the date of the violation (the date of your ticket), not the date of the conviction.
During your initial consultation, the attorney will typically discuss the details of your case, the possible defenses, potential plea bargains, what to expect in court & the potential consequences.
Strategies can vary depending on the nature of the charges and the specific facts of the case. Some defense strategies may include challenging the credibility of the witnesses, questioning the legality of evidence, arguing for a reduction in charges, or advocating for a not-guilty verdict.
While we provide exceptional legal representation, we also genuinely care about you & your unique circumstances. We understand that dealing with legal matters can be stressful, & the financial burden should not add to your worries. That’s why we are committed to providing flexible payment plans tailored to your needs. We believe that everyone deserves high-quality, efficient, & effective legal defense, regardless of their financial situation. We are here to help you navigate through your legal challenges & work tirelessly to protect your rights & interests.
The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute an attorney-client relationship.
Copyright© 2023 All Rights Reserved.
We will do our best to help you.